Weekend Reading

snow

Winter has now fully descended across most of Canada, giving views like the the one above. Here are some links of interest to SBP readers:

This is wonderful. An anti-GMO campaigner, Mark Lynas, discovers science and renounces his old views:

I want to start with some apologies. For the record, here and upfront, I apologise for having spent several years ripping up GM crops. I am also sorry that I helped to start the anti-GM movement back in the mid 1990s, and that I thereby assisted in demonising an important technological option which can be used to benefit the environment. As an environmentalist, and someone who believes that everyone in this world has a right to a healthy and nutritious diet of their choosing, I could not have chosen a more counter-productive path. I now regret it completely. So I guess you’ll be wondering – what happened between 1995 and now that made me not only change my mind but come here and admit it? Well, the answer is fairly simple: I discovered science, and in the process I hope I became a better environmentalist.

This speech has gone viral, so here’s another link if the one above doesn’t work.

Spotted:

From Science-Based Medicine:

Other great posts:

Long Reads – Perfect for your ebook or Instapaper:

  • A great long read about the physiology of (almost) freezing to death.
  • How personal-health journalism ignores the fundamental pitfalls baked into all scientific research and serves up a daily diet of unreliable information. Recommended.
  • Zero to do with pharmacy or health, but a recommended, remarkable read: The Innocent Man. “On August 13, 1986, Michael Morton came home from work to discover that his wife had been brutally murdered in their bed. His nightmare had only begun.”

Photo from flickr user Shreyans Bhansali used under a CC licence.

4 thoughts on “Weekend Reading

  1. I just got around to going through the links to catch the ones I had missed in my regular rounds, including the Oregano article that I purposely passed on in the Times. It was better than I had expected, so I shouldn’t have pre-judged it–lesson learned.

    Thanks for putting the Weekend Reading column together and continuing the fight against ignorance–willful or otherwise. Your photo looks a lot like parts of Wisconsin a week before. The upside is great x-country skiing!

Comments are closed.