Recommended Podcast

If you don’t listen to the Skeptic’s Guide to the Universe, you should. It’s the biggest and best skeptical and pro-science podcast out there. Their occasional slagging of pharmacy and pharmacists was one of the reasons I started this blog – to demonstrate that not every pharmacist is a shruggie when it comes to alternative medicine.

I want to draw your attention to a pharmacy-related discussion this week, in episode 229.  The Q&A segment starts with a discussion about a homeopathic advertisement that is posted all over Toronto (I think it’s this one).  The discussion progresses into a recap of the British homeopathic hearings that have been a public relations disaster for Boots Pharmacy). And then the hosts discuss the role of the pharmacist and pharmacy with respect to the sale of homeopathic products. It’s an interesting discussion, and highly recommended for pharmacists. The discussion starts at around 52:36.

(And on the same topic, check out this excellent article by Simon Perry that appeared in the Leicester Mercury, entitled, Boots, homeopathy, and a matter of trust.)

The episode also included a discussion about a position paper on vitamin supplementation, released by the American Dietetic Association, which states the following:

It is the position of the American Dietetic Association that the best nutrition-based strategy for promoting optimal health and reducing the risk of chronic disease is to wisely choose a wide variety of foods. Additional nutrients from supplements can help some people meet their nutrition needs as specified by science-based nutrition standards such as the Dietary Reference Intakes.

Vitamin supplementation will be scrutinized by this blog in 2010. There is lots to cover. Stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “Recommended Podcast

  1. I’m looking forward to the scrutinization of vitamins. It is one of the last throwbacks to my more gullible years–I still take a daily Centrum multivitamin. It is certainly an improvement over my weight-lifting, supplement-gorging past.

    I’m still not entirely convinced that my diet is varied enough to get all the nutrients I need without that one pill. Time and financial constraints mean I don’t get all the veggies and fruits I probably need. Maybe the scrutinization will change my mind.

Comments are closed.